First Amendment Foundation Announces 2020 Winners of Lucy Morgan Award

TALLAHASSEE — The First Amendment Foundation announces today that the winners of the Fourth Annual Lucy Morgan Award for Open Government Reporting are:

  • Julie K. Brown and Emily Michot of the Miami Herald for their investigative reporting that resulted in the “Perversion of Justice” series, exposing Jeffrey Epstein’s child sex trafficking crimes.

The award honors Florida journalists who have relied on public records to report important stories exposing corruption, crime and injustice. It is named for Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter Lucy Morgan of the Tampa Bay Times, formerly the St. Petersburg Times.

Lucy Morgan will present the awards during the Foundation’s upcoming virtual event on Wednesday, December 2nd from 7:30 to 8:30. Tickets for the event – “Exposing Epstein’s Evils: An Evening with Julie K. Brown and Emily Michot” – are available on the Foundation’s website at

Prior to the presentation of the awards, the reporter and photojournalist will discuss how they worked together to uncover the Jeffrey Epstein story, shining a light on the international extent of his crimes and giving a voice to dozens of victims who had been denied justice.

In announcing the winners, the President of the First Amendment Foundation, Pamela Marsh, said: “The work that Julie and Emily did together to make the Perversion of Justice series is inspiring.” She added: “I look forward to talking more with them at Wednesday’s event to hear how they investigated and pursued the facts in this case, which rattled circles of the rich and powerful all over the world.”

For more information or for sponsorship opportunities, please contact